Thursday, November 29, 2012

oil dependence in 2013


Oil dependence in 2013

                Our topic was based of energy dependence witch for us is basically oil; It was very interesting to see how much we actually used compared to everywhere else. We used a quote stating that the longer we wait to react the more traumatic the outcome is going to be. I completely believe this if we don’t start doing something about the miss use now we are going to make things far worse than they will be if people start being aware of the fact that there is a problem. Doing this power point brought a lot of questions and concerns for myself with even watch the video the end of suburbia I now catch myself turning light switches on the don’t need to be used at that moment, or double think before I drive somewhere but to think that this was only brought to my attention because of this class and learning about the problem. How do we get the word out to everyone else? Are people thinking about why are hybrid cars being attempted I just thought because we were trying to make things more futurized  rather than the possible chance that its because we soon could be running out of the resource that we need to run vehicles . It also brought my attention to how greedy we are in the USA look at what we are willing to do to get oil. Not alone causing a war but demolishing our lands and oceans with the wild life that lives in them all to produce more oil so that we can attain or lifestyle.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

The End of Suburbia


The End of Suburbia

This movie was based on a documentary that discusses the oil and natural gas deficiency that we are creating and how the world needs a wakeup call on how scares the resources are.  It discussed how the suburban lifestyle began by the idea of being in the country, and now that we look at it there is no country around it and seems to be named after what used to be there. I believe they stated that the first suburbia was started for our solders so that they had a home to come to where they could have their family and a wife at home, and from there it became a place that is not the country anymore you could drive like 150 miles from one place to another and not see any country just suburbia’s and industrial businesses. Oil used to be very inexpensive and there was a time where we were just trying to find ways to use it.  This documentary talked about GM (with other companies) buying out the transit and taking them out so that people were forced to buy their cars.  Also how will we get all the resources that we have sent overseas if we run out of oil and natural gases there will be no transportation and will we have the mean here to continue?

This documentary was very enlightening and concerning at the same time. It makes me wonder why the concern is not in the media and why we are not allowing everyone to know of the situation.  I believe that the movie was done around 2004 time frame, it is now 2012 and nothing has changed. What is being done or what do we need to do to help keep the world a good place for our children. It really makes you think and consider things that we have been taking for granted for so long. Before this documentary I didn’t know what peak oil was: where you at their time when you are pulling the most oil that you will right before it decline. How long do we have before it begins to decline and are we going to be ready for it?   It scares me to think that the blackout that occurred in 2003 has not been talked about much, nor is anything being done so that it does not happen again. Look what happened when the storm Sandy hit, and all those people had no power I think that everyone needs to take a good look and be scares with our resources and be aware that something like this could happen that we could soon have no natural gas nor oil and how are we as well as others going to react.

Thursday, November 15, 2012

changes to justice system


Describe changes society could make to the criminals justice system that would stop crime without incarceration.

 If we changes our views on what a criminal is I think it would help stop crime without incarceration. Why is it that an adult human who smokes weed on occasion considered a criminal and needs to spend time in jail? Did we not go through the same debate with alcohol?   A permanent ban on the sale, transportation, importing, and exporting of alcoholic beverages was enacted by passage of the 18th Amendment to the U.S. Constitution by Congress in December, 1917. It took just over one year for the Amendment to be ratified by the states. Prior to the national ban, individual states had passed local bans, and by 1916, 26 of the 48 states banned alcohol. Proponents of the so called "noble experiment" claimed that the nation's health would improve dramatically without alcohol, and that crime would drop. It was also claimed that other industries, like dairy, would prosper as other types of beverages increased in popularity to fill the void left by the absence of alcohol. Juvenile delinquency was also supposed to be virtually eliminated, and the average workers productivity was also supposed to increase, leading to an increase in economic prosperity for the nation. “Why are we opposed to change, why are we staying in the black and white can people not see the color. Is it not the majority of criminals in for things such as weed? When alcohol used to be consider and the same stuff was being said about alcohol then as it is now about weed such as: “The question voters should be asking themselves,” Sabet said, “before voting on these initiatives is this: Is your right to buy pot from a store down the street worth the risk of increased teenage drug abuse, increased enforcement action by the feds, and increased problems like 'stoned driving?’ “The world needs to wake up stop being scared of change. An adult chooses to obey the law or break the law and then will have to suffer the outcome. Who’s to say that “Do you want stoned driving?” Do we not still issue DUIs? I’m pretty sure we due.  

I feel as though we do need to have a justice system however I think that allot of things need to be taken into consideration and punishments need to be considered on what a threat the person is and the crime they are committing is to us being able to live in peace without harm.

 Why are we feeding the prisoners and why are we paying taxes for people who choose to not follow by the rules set up for everyone to live in peace without harm. If a person chooses to disobey the law then why should they get a free pass? I have never been in prison so I don’t know what they have to pay for or what they get but I feel that it should be up to them to get it themselves. If they became criminals because they did not learn to feel the role in society then maybe we need to create a society for them to learn in. such as harvesting their own food you want to eat plant it, harvest it, pick it, clean it, cook it.

Thursday, November 8, 2012

Sociology


What insights did tuesday election give us into the changing dynamics of american society?

This article claim suggest that women are not sitting by and going to let men make all the laws anymore and making it more difficult to pass anti-women laws without the women having a say in what is being passed. Women are taking a stand, by giving women a place is giving them a voice. Women that are taking a stand and running for places in gov. are teaching other women that they can educate yourself and make an informed decision to vote however you may feel and not feel you have to vote a certin way because that is how your husband feels or how your family feels.

The support that the atrticle hold is that in 1992 it was said "to be the year of the women" winning 6 senate seats setting a record for women. On tuesdays election a record of 20 seats are now being held by women. Along with the idea of a women being elected for presedent in 2016.

The article provides changing into the demographics of american society by stating that even 4 years ago "when Hillary Clinton ran for president in 2008, the idea of a female president seemed so novel. When Sen. John McCain picked then-Alaska governor Sarah Palin as his running mate that same year, the choice seemed daring." Now we are predicting that 2016 could be the year of the first female president.

           Culture is being changed, by changing the belifes of women. Giving them a chance to have a voice and not have to sit back and let men make decide the fate of women. It’s now giving women a chance to sit at the table and make the men look them in the eye and explain why they are proposing whatever they may be proposing. The article also goes into the fact that women didn’t only become historic by setting the record for holding senate seats but also in other fronts as well such as, “Democrat Mazie Hirono in Hawaii beat Linda Lingle to become the first Asian-American woman in the Senate. In Wisconsin, Tammy Baldwin became the first openly gay U.S. senator.

I feel that it is a good thing that more women are taking a stand and want there voices heard. I just hope that they are not doing it for the wrong reason. I can see it getting out of control. Like in the article they had put its girl power to the nth degree. I feel that women should have a right to vote and be a part of making the laws. However it should be done for the right reason. I would not like to see women ending up taking control and making changes to how the men were back when women were not even aloud to vote.